Photo by Jane Brooker
Anne worked at Falgate’s shop on Staithe Road for a year when she left school, before going on to work at the chemist in Stalham for for about six years until she married
to the Hickling Local History Group:
Heath Priory - just off Staithe Road - was owned by the Falgate family who moved there in 1946 and opened tea rooms. They then built a shop - Heath Priory Stores, otherwise known as the Falgate Shop, up the road a bit.
In 1967, the Parry family bought Heath Priory and continued to run the shop until competition from a new shop at The Pleasure Boat Inn forced its closure, losing for the village one of its more picturesque businesses..